Resort Information



The Victorian Interschools SnowSports Championships, were first staged in 1958 at Mt Buller. The first Schools to compete were Melbourne Grammar School and Scotch College. 

Since the early days of 1958 the Victorian Interschools SnowSports Championships (or Interschools) have grown to become one of the premiere School sporting competitions in Victoria. Over 220 Schools compete annually in the event held at Mt. Buller. In recent years there have been just under 6,500 entries in the event across 9 disciplines. A far cry from the first Interschools which consisted of 4 boys from Melbourne Grammar School and 4 boys from Scotch College competing in an Alpine Giant Slalom event. 

Today competitors have the choice of Alpine Giant Slalom, Snowboard Giant Slalom, Snowboard Cross, Ski Cross, Moguls, Cross Country Classical, Cross Country Freestyle Relay, Slopestyle Ski and Slopestyle Snowboard.



The Victorian Interschools has a proud history of over 60 years.  For much of that time, and thanks to the generosity of many within the snowsports industry family, a tradition has evolved of awarding Perpetual Trophies to winning individuals, teams and schools.  There are also a series of trophies for outstanding overall achievements.  In total, some 140 Perpetual Trophies are now in existence.

While these Perpetual Trophies represent fitting reward for success in competition, more importantly, they provide a rich history of Victorian Interschools performances.  For this reason, it is important that the Perpetual Trophies be available each year for the Event.  This requires all those who are presently the custodians of the trophies, to return them suitably engraved and polished, in preparation for their next episode.  Past participants have benefited from this custom and now it is their turn to contribute.

Congratulations to the 2023 Perpetual Trophies winners.

All Perpetual Trophies are to be returned to Reception at Mt Buller Alpine Central between July 16 and 30 2024. 

2023 Cross Country Perpetual Trophy List by School 

2023 Perpetual Trophies by School